Ballroom dancing in Anston and Dinnington.

Hi Everybody

I have been ballroom dancing since 2000, but one thing I have found is that the single person isn’t catered for very well in ballroom dancing.  if you go Salsa or Modern Jive dancing, you may go along with your partner, but as you learn each part of the dance, you change partners and move around the room.  A single person doesn’t feel left out.

I would like to set up a Ballroom dancing class that caters for singles as much as it does couples in Anston and Dinnington.  Why should single people have to wait until they are in a relationship or married to ballroom dance, it appears that Ballroom dancing still has to drop some of the “strictly come dancing snobbishness.”  It would be great to organise trips  to Blackpool Tower ballroom and there are weekly tea dances in Sheffield city Hall.

There still seems to be a them and us attitude in Ballroom dancing to Salsa and Modern Jive.  I have been around the circuit a little and learned at Drapers, Margaret Huntley’s in Dinnington, City Limits and Karen Byrons dance school.  Of all the dance schools I have learnt at, Karen’s is the best and she caters for singles better than the other schools.

I can go in Sheffield City Hall and dance with 10 different ladies in an afternoon, but many of the ladies are much older and I would like to do more of the Latin American dances and it would be nicer to see a few younger ladies in there.

This is the list of ballroom dances that I have done in the past:  Waltz, Quick step, Jive, Foxtrot, Cha Cha Cha, Tango, Samba and Rumba.   I would love to add the Argentinian Tango to that list, but I will need to find the right partner for that one.

I reckon with the right teacher, that all the above dances could be cracked in twelve months to a really good level.  I have concerns that too many dance schools are about making money and not actually advancing people in Ballroom dancing and out into the social dance network.   One Christmas at a Salsa dance Christmas dance, we learnt to do the Cha Cha Cha in an evening

Anyway I would love to hear from singles, couples and a ballroom dance teacher willing to teach ballroom dancing as though it was Modern Jive or Salsa.

You can ring me on 01909 561706 or contact me via email tim.wells@hotmail.co.uk.

All the best

Tim

Leave a Reply

