Orange tip butterfly Anthocharis cardamines Anston stones

Anston stones is a SSSI site, with some rare butterflies.  Rather than catching butterflies as I did when I was a child, it is much better to catch on film.

Orange tipped butterfly

Orange tipped butterfly

I decided I was going to see how many different butterflies I can take pictures of in Anston stones.  The orange tipped butterfly has been quite difficult to capture on my camera, but I have managed to get one at last.

The butterfly looks a little yellow in the bright sunlight, but I don’t think there is an yellow tipped one.

I am hoping for some pretty rare butterflies once the warm weather sets in.  There is a long time until the end of summer.

All the best

Tim

Leave a Reply

