Davy United and Davy Markham Prince of Wales rd photograph s

Photography Anston, Dinnington, Sheffield, South Yorkshire, North Nottinghamshire and UK

I decided to go and take some pictures of Davy Markham, as I had been told it had closed down.  However I have since found out that Davy Markham hasn’t closed down and is doing well.  My Dad, Granddad, Uncle and Great Granddad all worked here.   My Grandparents garden was connected to the back of the company.   My Granddad got permission to put a gate in the fence, imagine that in this day and age.

Rolling mills and the Lovell Telescope Joderell bank

Davy United’s were famous for making Industrial rolling mills and other large metal structures.  My dad helped to make the bearing for the Lovell telescope at Joderell bank.  My dad had his name engraved on the original bearing back in the 1950’s/60’s.

Militant Unions

The trouble with Davy’s was the militant Unions.  They once had held the record for the number of walk outs in…

View original post 234 more words

Leave a Reply

